Untitled Document
Untitled Document
in this section
Untitled Document
  Most Recent
Untitled Document
Untitled Document



Pro Shottas and Mavericks headed to Guardian Group final

Category: | 0 Replies

With all the other divisions in the Guardian Group Youth Tournament already done and dusted, it is time for the big boys to go after the top spot in the 2018 competition. The final in the IP Under-17 is set to be decided this coming weekend as berths were booked over Monday and Tuesday this week. It will be Novum Energy Mavericks and Flow Pro Shottas going head-to-head in Saturday's final at the Wildey Turf as both teams pulled out wins in their respective games.

On Monday evening at Wildey, Mavericks were first to secure their spot after getting the be better of RBC Capital Markets Barbados Soccer Academy Super Stars in an extra-time thriller. Mavericks were first on the boards with a goal from Jaheim Neblett in the 44th minute. However, the Soccer Academy were brought back level when Corey Hoyte knocked home a penalty in the 64th minute.

By the time the full time whistle was blown, neither team was able to tip the scales in their favour, forcing extra-time. Mavericks were adamant that they would be going through to the final as they scored not once, but twice to take home a 3-1 victory. Neblett was good for a second goal in the 93rd, while Desean Boyce added the third in the 111th minute.

On Tuesday, it was the turn of Pro Shottas to advance and they did so with a 1-0 win over Paradise. One of the club's most prolific strikers, Niall Reid-Stephen gave his team the goods in the 24th minute to see them into Saturday's final.

The match up between Pro Shottas and Mavericks, who also met up in the Under-15 final last weekend, is set to kick off at 2:00 PM.

Untitled Document
U-17s begin their ...
March 14, 2019
Young Tridents tut...
March 13, 2019
Dames and Brittons...
March 11, 2019
QC come away as qu...
March 09, 2019
Barbados edge clos...
March 07, 2019
Untitled Document
Untitled Document
© Copyright Barbados Football Association 2019.
All Rights Reserved.