Untitled Document
Untitled Document
in this section
Untitled Document
  Most Recent
Untitled Document
Untitled Document



Tier 1 champions decided in National Youth Cup

Category: | 0 Replies

Mavericks Fire pulled off an exciting win over Pro Shottas Spurs in the Under-17 final.

After weeks of waging war against their peers the champions have finally been decided in Tier 1 of the Barbados Football Association's National Youth Cup. With the finale in Tier 2 set for next weekend, titles were claimed in exciting matches at the Wildey Turf on Saturday with the Pro Shottas United picking two of the five on offer.

The Under-9 final saw a White Hall coming home ahead of a closely-matched West Coast Academy with a single goal setting the two apart. Maleek Peters sent the game-winner home in the 17th minute to see White Hall take home another title.

With Pro Shottas in four finals on the day, they took home their first set of hardware after making short work of Mavericks Fire. The Mavs were unable to get a single goal over the line, however, the Shottas got three to go and Evydence Bailey, Ari Manning and Alligne Bend knocked them all in rapid succession (22nd, 24th and 28th).

The Shottas were not as lucky in the Under-13 final where they met up with Technique FC. The latter completed a flawless tournament by winning all of their games and the climax came with a 4-1 drubbing of the Pro Shottas Spurs. Tournament MVP Javonte Griffith took his tally of goals up to 17 after netting in the 8th, 14th and 19th minutes while Kiaros Greaves made a contribution of his own in the 11 to see the team into a solid position going into the break. However, there would be no more goals for Technique, but the Spurs managed a consolation in the 50th minute from Seamus Burgess-Sims.

The Shottas were in winner's row again in the Under-15 final when they crossed swords with Pinelands. This time, it was a lone goal from Aaron Cumberbatch in the 28th that separated the two teams.

In the Under-17 final, Pro Shottas gave up a 1-0 goal lead to go down 3-1 to Mavericks Fire to see the Mavs pick up their first win in about three years against the Shottas in this age-group. Mavericks handed Pro Shottas the lead in the 26th minute after an own-goal came off Jaheim Neblett.

However, the Mavs would not say die in the literal grudge match. Coby Mayers opened the door for them in the 35th minute to see the teams locked at the break. Going the the other way, the Pro Shottas defence did not seem able to get a handle on Kemar John and he became a constant fixture in the attacking third, converting chances in the 58th and 77th minute to bring up the win.

The competition is expected to come to a close next week after the Tier 2 teams have their day in the sun at the Wildey Turf.



National Youth Cup Tier 1 Awards



Best Goalkeeper: Jaden Howard – West Coast
Best Defender: Jevonte Ward – White Hall

Best Midfielder: Jamarco Johnson – West Coast

Most Goals: Sacha Pounder – Pro Shottas United (11)

Most Valuable Player: Jevonte Ward – White Hall

1st Place: White Hall FC, 2nd Place: West Coast



Best Goalkeeper: Semaj Best – Mavericks Fire
Best Defender: Kaleb Went – Mavericks Fire

Best Midfielder: Ethan Rollock – Pro Shottas

Most Goals: Troy Corbin – Kick Start Shooters (7)

Most Valuable Player: Ethan Rollock – Pro Shottas

1st Place: Pro Shottas United,2nd Place: Mavericks Fire



Best Goalkeeper: Dylan Inniss – Pro Shottas Spurs
Best Defender: Declan Leedham – Pro Shottas Spurs

Best Midfielder: Javonte Griffith – Technique FC

Most Goals: Javonte Griffith – Technique FC (17)

Most Valuable Player: Javonte Griffith – Technique FC

1st Place: Technique FC, 2nd Place: Pro Shottas Spurs



Best Goalkeeper: Tyrell Brathwaite – Pinelands Academy
Best Defender: Tyrese Benskin – Pride of Gall Hill

Best Midfielder: Aaron Cumberbatch – Pro Shottas United

Most Goals: Jamario Gill – Pinelands (6), Nadre Butcher – Pro Shottas United (6)

Most Valuable Player: Aaron Cumberbatch – Pro Shottas United 

1st Place: Pro Shottas United, 2nd Place: Pinelands Academy



Best Goalkeeper: Chad Alleyne – Mavericks Fire
Best Defender: Jaheim Neblett – Mavericks Fire

Best Midfielder: Coby Mayers – Mavericks Fire

Most Goals: Corey Hoyte – Barbados Soccer Academy (8), Rashawn Marshall (8)

Most Valuable Player: Chad Alleyne – Mavericks Fire

1st Place: Mavericks Fire,2nd Place: Pro Shottas United


Untitled Document
Second set of Cape...
October 20, 2019
Teams Capelli Read...
October 19, 2019
BDFSP and Ellerton...
October 19, 2019
Capelli Championsh...
October 18, 2019
Senior Men eyeing ...
October 15, 2019
Untitled Document
Untitled Document
© Copyright Barbados Football Association 2019.
All Rights Reserved.